Wudder!

I remember the first time I said “water ice” to my friend Anthony. He was like.. “Yeahhhh.. okay.” I’m like, “You never heard of water ice?” Only in Philly will you hear people say water differently. Anthony still makes fun of me to this very day, because of the way I say water.

Here’s a thing I found on Wikipedia about it: “The word water is commonly pronounced /wʊdər/ (with the first syllable identical to the word wood, so that it sounds somewhat like wooder.) This is considered by many to be the defining characteristic of the Philadelphia dialect.”

Everywhere else they pronounce it “wahter”. Douche bags. 😛

Leave a Reply

«

»
